The European Youth Capital is a brand initiated by the European Youth Forum and is now in its eighth edition. The title is awarded to a European city that presents a compelling programme youth-related cultural, social and political events and activities.

The city that have been selected to compete for the title of European Youth Capital (EYC) 2016 are: Badajoz (Spain), Galway (Ireland), Ganja (Azerbaijan), La Laguna (Spain), Varna (Bulgaria) and Vilnius (Lithuania)

These six cities will continue to compete for the covered title. As with previous competitions, the European Youth Capital 2016 will encourage the implementation of the Council of Europe’s Charter on Local and Regional Participation of Young People through the promotion of new ideas and innovative projects.

2016’s short-listed cities advance now to the second round, where they will need to receive recommendations from an independent jury and a youth focus group before June. The winning city will be announced on 23rd November during an awarding ceremony in Thessaloniki, Greece (EYC 2014).

The European Youth Capital lays its foundations for young people’s active participation in society and present good practice examples to other European municipalities. Don’t hesitate to get involved with your local municipality, and who knows? – maybe your city could be a future European Youth Capital!

-For more information visit:

Note: Since the first European Youth Capital was awarded to Rotterdam in 2009, the title has been awarded the title to Turin (2010), Antwerp (2011), Braga (2012), Maribor (2013), Thessaloniki (2014) and Cluj-Napoca (2015).


Tagged with:
Valeria Ileana Siciliano
About The Author

Valeria Ileana Siciliano

Valeria Ileana comes from Italy and she is Assistant on External Relations and Funding at the European Scout Office. She is following the Region's work on External Relations and Funding.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *